How to build a personal brand to stand out in your career.

How to build a personal brand to stand out in your career.

Tips for building a personal brand.

ยท

2 min read

I was recently selected to join the Hashnode Bootcamp III and on day 3, we learned how to stand out by building a personal brand by Colby Fayock. As a newbie in tech, I found this session very useful. I have now purposed to share my learning journey on social media and my blog.

What is a personal brand?

A personal brand is who you are, what you stand for, the values you embrace, and the way in which you express those values. A personal brand helps to communicate a unique identity and clear value to potential employers and clients. Branding isn't for companies only. Personal branding is one's story, as a person you able to tell your story and share your goals.

Tips for developing a personal brand.

  • Have a focus.

Having a niche helps you to stand out in your career. Avoid trying to be everything. Doing one thing at a time helps you keep focused and makes it much easier for people to define you. If you keep your message focused and consistent with one niche topic, people will easily remember who you are.

  • Being consistent.

It's very similar to having a focus. When you consistently create content around a particular topic, it's easy to stand out and get recognized. Being consistent is what will give you authenticity in front of others. Having the same profile pictures across all platforms and the same banner or cover images is crucial too. The description of what you do should also be similar across all platforms. This makes it much easier for people to search for you across different platforms and you will be easily recognized when people see your content on another platform.

Personal branding plans.

  • Growing an online presence on my Twitter, and LinkedIn accounts and my blog by sharing my learning journey weekly.

  • Building a portfolio where I can showcase all my work.

  • Editing my Twitter, LinkedIn, Github profiles, and my blog to share the same message so that I can maintain consistency.

Conclusion.

That's all for now, my personal brand is a work in progress that I will keep improving consistently by following my branding plans and using the above tips.

As usual, thanks for reading!!